EvO:R Indie Reviews

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people that we review know how we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    First of all, we strongly believe that if your music stinks then the world should know about it! After all, you have the nerve to charge as much for your stuff as the majors do so it better be pretty damn good. If your material is good, we'll be glad to tell the world. I We will hold nothing back! That is a promise.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team

    by David Silva
    Reviewed by Joel Pirard

    Well itís been a while since my last reviews; Been busier than a one Ėarmed paper hanger as they say. Now, onto the review.

    Right off the bat, the opening track, GUITARS & SHADY LADIES opens up with an interesting guitar pattern, and great lyrics, tells the story straight, with humor. I really like this tune A LOT. Great harpsichord in it as well. A bouncy, up-tempo number. Recorded crisp, clear, by Scott Rodell, Mastered by Robin Farrell.

    There is a bit of country-western on the next tune, GARLIC, Again this CD is produced so well, Silva has a pleasant voice, a wit to his lyrics.

    HALíS TRAIN SONG features some nice banjo playing, , a bit more of a haunting, down-beat tune, still, the tune is driving, and it is a great lost love ballad. A mention of the musicians is needed here.

    David Silva, Scott Rodell and, Bradley John Sanders are the musicians on this. I would suspect they wore different hats as needed. All great. I cannot say more how much I love the arrangements, the production, the wit, the melodies. This album is a MUST HAVE.

    WHY these people are not on major distribution is beyond me. Another fun tune, TRAVELING follows, but tone that stands out for me again is COFFEE SHOP with a great woodwind arrangement, augmented by strings, this is a more introspective tune, very Beatlesque. Excellent guitar work as well.

    SEPTEMBER BRIDE is a also so catchy you will be singing the Ďdo-d0-doís along from the get-go. Lyrically, the images are reminiscent of Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel, I could hear them singing this EASILY.

    BLESSINGS continues in this genre, also a little of Dylan, McCartney, influence also. SWEET! IT WILL ALL BE PERFECT is a simple, guitar-voice solo piece, poignant, sad, and POWERFUL in itsí subject matter. Sad song, but SO well done. SEAFOOD AT THE HOLIDAY INN is a song about the road, having fun on the way, some great mandolin playing, a bit of bluegrass, and country together, stitched in a fine pattern, all about travelling, and ultimately finding a home. Silva is a great story teller.

    The final track is LIFE IS GOOD with great country western guitar, a funny, good-bye to you girl song! Sardonic, humorous, sarcastic, and fun. I could see a roomful of people singing along to this one. Fun, tongue-in-cheek, but well done.
    Song Samples from the CD
    All song samples are from David Silva's page on CD Baby.
     /  Guitars and Shady Ladies  / Garlic  / Hal's Train Song  / Traveling  / Coffee Shop  / September Bride  / Blessings  / It Will All Be Perfect  / Seafood At the Holiday Inn  / Life Is Good  / 

    Conclusion: this is a hidden gem It is worth a 10 on a scale of 1-10
    GET IT! www.daveworldonline.com and www.cdbaby.com/cd/davidsilva for info.
    Joel Pirard ...EvO:R Reviewer.

    Comment about this review:
    This morning I woke up to this review: http://www.evor.com/reviews_silva.html

    I am humbled, grateful, and exhausted from having spent my day contacting everyone I have ever known telling them to read it. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! And if you have contact info for Joel Pirard I would love to contact him to express my gratitude!!!

    And once again, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!
    David Silva

    Meet Joel Pirard
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce myself to everyone. My name is Joel Pirard and I am one of the new music reviewers here at Evor. I wanted to let you know a little about my thoughts on music. It's important to let the people that I review, think and listen to music.

    I love to listen to great music from Independent artists. I'm very excited about how the indie community has generated such great music. I will say that if I don't like what I hear I will say so. At EvO:R, we are told to tell the truth and not to hold back. So here goes. I hope you enjoy the reviews.
    Joel Pirard- staff reviewer
    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?
    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites.

    Due to the cost involved with hiring quality reviewers we will require a $15.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "donate" button to the right to donate $15.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvO:R Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2010 EvO:R Entertainment