EvO:R Indie Reviews

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people we review know what we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    We hold nothing back! The team has been instructed to be honest and respectful of all CD's reviewed.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team
     Artist: Robert Rossi
     Album: City Folk
     Genre: Folk
     Rating: 8 out of 10 stars
     Buy CD: Buy the CD
     Social Media: Follow on Facebook
     Reviewed by: Charles Harrelson
     Edited by: Charles Harrelson
     Review Comments: next2zero@yahoo.com

    The Review
    Folk music has no nameable origin. Itís more tradition than entertainment. There are folk songs that date so far back, they can be considered oral histories. Certainly, in America, songs by traditional American folksingers like Leadbelly and Woody Guthrie tell stories that often donít even appear in history books. From its origins, folk music has been the music of the working class.

    In the 1930s, folk music enjoyed a resurgence as the stock market crashed and workers everywhere were displaced, scrambling for jobs. A series of droughts and dust storms encouraged farmers out of the Dust Bowl region and toward promises in California and New York State. These communities were found in boxcars and jungle camps, as workers tried to make their way from job to job.

    In the Ď60s the American worker found himself in struggle. This time, the main concern was not wages or benefits, but civil rights and the War in Vietnam. American folksingers gathered in coffee shops and at hootenannies in San Francisco and New York. They picked up the legacies of Woody Guthrie and others, singing songs about the concerns of the day. Out of this community rose Folk Rockís superstars - Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Joan Baez, and others. Their work dealt with everything from love and war to work and play. The 1960s folk revival offered political commentary, sure, but also a powerful promise for change.

    Now at the head of the 21st Century, American folk music has begun to swell again, as workers find themselves in a position of nostalgia.

  •  Complete Folk Music Resource

    Robert Rossi is an up and coming talent from the modern era of folk music. Taking inspiration from Bob Dylan and Woody Guthrie, Rossi creates music based on real life and are very personal stories. When I mention Bob Dylan, I have to say the pre-electric Bob Dylan as it is well documented that when Dylan went electric he upset a large portion of his followers. The music is very approachable because the message in the words are more important as the music is just the vehicle used to deliver the message. Rossi didn't modernize his music with a full band with huge productions. He keeps everything as basic as possible relying on the message verses the music.

    Rossi follows the pre-electric Dylan formula with simple recordings. Sticking to his guitar and harmonica format, occasionally teaming with Bryce Miller to add additional color with organ and percussion. I was most impressed with vocal harmonies on many of the songs. Looking in the CD cover it appears as if Robert does all the vocal harmonies as well. This was impressive because I would have thought it was another vocalist working with him.

  • In the Studio:
    No studio credits are given on the CD but the recording was clean, clear and precise. Nothing is over produced, compressed or compromised. The recording sounds live to me. I felt as if I was in a small coffee shop listening to Rossi standing in front of a microphone with his harmonica strapped around his neck. The vocals jump straight out of the mix so you can hear every word. Once in a while you can even hear Rossi catch his breath before singing the next verse. Many enginees would use Pro-Tool and remove this. I think it adds a human element to the recording. There aren't many instruments to deal with but they are all well placed in the studio mix. This was a first class recording with or without credits given.
    The Music
     / Spring Song  / Single Engine Heart 4:03  / Song for a Lover 3:32  / Sweet Marie 2:04  / The Cost 4:19 /   / Lost Myself 4:34  / Song for Laura 3:29  / Song for Rita 3:17  / All Day Long 2:50  / Ashes and Graves  / 
    If you are a fan of folk music or you are interested in hearing more from an up and coming artist then City Folk might be a good place to start. Robert Rossi, gives fans of this genre everything you can ask for in a traditional folk album. The recording is crisp, clear and his words are true to his beliefs. Unlike the early folk artist's who sang songs about the hard times of the era. Rossi sings more to emotional relationships and everyday reflections. This is a must own CD for fans who enjoy great lyrics and an artist who can articulate a message musically.
     Reviewed by: Charles Harrelson
     Edited by: Charles Harrelson
     Review Comments: next2zero@yahoo.com

    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?
    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites.

    Due to the cost involved with hiring quality reviewers we will require a $15.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "donate" button to the right to donate $15.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvO:R Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2013 EvOR Entertainment