EvO:R Indie Reviews
Empty Swings
by Jeff Callahan

EvO:R Pages
•  CD Reviews
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Home
•  EvO:R-Pedia
•  EvO:R Sitemap
•  Home Page
•  Buy CD's
•  Free Music
•  About EvO:R
•  EvO:R Gear
•  Join EvO:R
•  Insider Tips
•  Guitars
•  Music News
•  Discussion
•  Best Sites
Carrera Reviews
•  CD Reviews
•  Caterine
•  Chigger Red
•  Frank Cotolo
•  Karl Kalbaugh
•  Roberto Luz
•  R.I.P.E.
•  TL2 Review
•  Southern Logic
•  JDA Review
•  Jeza Review
•  2nd Story Review
•  Industry Links
•  Band Links
Indie CD's
• CD's Gospel
• CD's Soul
• CD's Hip Hop
• CD's Dance
• CD's Electronic
• CD's Pop
• CD's R&B
• CD's Rap
• CD's Urban
• CD's Funk
• CD's Industrial
• CD's Seasonal
• CD's Funk
• CD's New Age
• CD's Guitars
• CD's Jazz
• CD's Classical
• CD's Comedy
• CD's Country
• CD's Folk
• CD's Rock
• CD's Alternative
• CD's Blues
• CD's World
• CD's Metal
•  Testimonials
•  Contact Us
•  Suggest Us
•  Link to Us
•  EvO:R Hats
•  EvO:R Shirts
•  EvO:R Clocks
•  EvO:R Visors
•  EvO:R Gear
• Radio
• PodCast
Ask Rick
• Guitar Questions
Welcome to EvO:R Entertainment
  •  The Independent Musicians CD Reviews

    Welcome to the EvO:R Independent CD Reviews Section.
    I would like to take a few minutes to introduce ourselves to everyone. The EvO:R review section features reviews from various independent musicians that submit material for our consideration.

    I wanted to let you know a little about our review teams collective thoughts on music. It's important to let the people that we review know how we think of their music and how we listened to their creations.

    First of all, we strongly believe that if your music stinks then the world should know about it! After all, you have the nerve to charge as much for your stuff as the majors do so it better be pretty damn good. If your material is good, we'll be glad to tell the world. I We will hold nothing back! That is a promise.
    The EvO:R CD Review Team

     Empty Swings
    by Jeff Callahan

    Layered aromas of love and madness are followed by flavors of sin, bliss and addiction filling the whole palate with haunting, surrealistic poetry and jazz fusion.

    Genre: Spoken Word: With Music
    Release Date: 2009

    Bringing poetry to life, "Empty Swings," creatively composed by Jeff Callahan brilliantly blends spoken word with Jazz Fusion. Each track features Callahan verbalizing life and nature with a voice that is soft and gentle. Callahan paints pictures with lyrics like "...wildly rummaging through button-down clouds and in pot bellied raindrops smothering the haunted beating of your nightstand clock" on the track "Sweet Dreams Earth."

    Even though the album is focused around the spoken poems, the instrumental background deserves credit as the cast of musicians deftly perform with emotive tonality. For instance, listen as the sweet and tender electric piano and soulful saxophone cascade around the poetic words on “Slide, Slide, Slide.”
    Song Samples from the CD
    All song samples are from Jeff Callahan's page on CD Baby.
     / Slide, Slide, Slide /  Rejoice / Blue Pendulums / Lion Postures / 
     / Fling Wide the Gates /  Sweet Dreams Earth /  Twilight Tapestries / 
     / I, My Magdalene and Mescal /  Private Collection of Madness / 
     / Gardens of Your Spring /  Hands of Time /  Smidgens of Sin / 
     / Evening's Skeleton /  Wishing Well /  A Sigh and A Shrug / 
     / The Sky of Sleep / 

    "Empty Swings" gives a listener great imagery with its poetic words and is complemented by wonderful music making it an album well worth having.
    Jef Peace ...EvO:R Reviewer.

    The EvO:R CD Reviews Home Page

    Want EvO:R to review your music?
    It will be honest and above all, very interesting. You will be granted permission to reproduce the review or link to the review on any artist websites or social media sites.

    Due to the cost involved with hiring quality reviewers we will require a $15.00 donation when submitting a CD for review. Simply click the "donate" button to the right to donate $15.00 for your professional review.

    After making your donation you can send your CD to:
  • Charlie Harrelson
    EvO:R Reviewer
    855 Markham Wood Rd
    Longwood, Fl.

  • Please, no emails with links to music. We do require a CD for any reviews.
    Reviews will appear in the order that CD's are sent so don't delay as it takes a few weeks for reviews to appear! If your CD is good enough it may qualify for the top 25 Indie CD's of all time.

  • All content © 2001 -2010 EvO:R Entertainment